Secretariat

The Secretariat is responsible for the day-to-day running of the Academy and providing administrative support of Academy programs, including:

  • Facilitating links between the Executive Committee, Fellows of the Academy, and government
  • Managing the Academy’s programs and events
  • Publishing material on behalf of the Academy
  • Liaising with the public and the media
  • Formulating policy in conjunction with the Executive Committee
  • Liaising with international partners and allied organisations
  • Providing administrative support and Fellowship services.
Executive Director
Dr John Beaton (BA, MA UCLA, PhD ANU)
john.beaton@assa.edu.au
Fellowship Manager
Ms Michelle Bruce (BA)
michelle.bruce@assa.edu.au
Finance Manager
Ms Jennifer Fernance (BA Hons ANU)
jennifer.fernance@assa.edu.au
Human Resource and Payroll Manager
Mrs Rosemary Hurley
rosemary.hurley@assa.edu.au
Public Engagement Manager
Ms Sunny Hutson
sunny.hutson@assa.edu.au
Programs Manager
Mr Dylan Clements (BA Hons, PhD ANU*)
dylan.clements@assa.edu.au
Deputy Director
Ms Liz West (BA Political Science, MBA)
liz.west@assa.edu.au

Contact Information

Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia

    ABN: 59 957 839 703
  • Location: 26 Balmain Crescent, Acton, ACT 2601
  • Postal: GPO Box 1956, Canberra, ACT 2601
  • +61 .2 62491788
  • +61 .2 62474335
  • secretariat@assa.edu.au