Fellows Detail

Professor Peter Hall AO

BSc (Hons I, Mathematical Statistics) (Sydney), MSc (ANU) DPhil (Oxford), Docteur Honoris Causa (Universite Catholique de Louvain), Hon DSc (University of Glasgow), DSc Honoris Causa (Sydney), Doctor Honoris Causa (Universidad de Cantabria), FAA, FAustMS, FRS, CorrFRSE

Elected: 2015

Discipline: Statistics

Specialisation: Theoretical and applied statistics, probability theory

Date of Passing: 01/09/2016


Fellowships and awards:
1974: University Medal, University of Sydney
1974: CSIRO Postgraduate Studentship
1974-6: Senior Hulme (Overseas) Scholarship to Brasenose College, Oxford
1984: Fellowship of Institute of Mathematical Statistics
1986: Australian Mathematical Society Medal
1986: Rollo Davidson Prize, University of Cambridge
1987: Edgeworth David Medal, Royal Society of New South Wales
1987: Fellow, Australian Academy of Science
1989: Lyle Medal, Australian Academy of Science
1989: Honorary Fellow, Royal Statistical Society
1989: Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies Award
1990: Honorary Fellow, CSIRO Division of Mathematics and Statistics
1990: Pitman Medal, Statistical Society of Australia
1992: Special Investigator Award, Australian Research Council
(Renewed 1995)
1995: Hannan Medal, Australian Academy of Science
1996: Fellow, American Statistical Association
2000: Fellow, Royal Society of London
2001: Centenary Medal
2002: Corresponding Fellow, Royal Society of Edinburgh
2002: American Statistical Association award for outstanding paper
on statistical applications
2002: Australian Professorial Fellowship, Australian Research Council
(Renewed 2005)
2006: Matthew Flinders Medal and Lecture, Australian Academy of Science
2006-11: Federation Fellowship, Australian Research Council
2007: American Statistical Association Gottfried E. Noether Senior Researcher
Award for outstanding contributions to nonparametric statistics
2008: Distinguished Achievement Award, International Chinese Statistical
2009: Moyal Medal, Macquarie University
2009: Challis Award and Lectures, University of Florida
2010: Szekeres Medal, Australian Mathematical Society
2011: Guy Medal in Silver, Royal Statistical Society
2012-17: Laureate Fellowship, Australian Research Council
2012: Samuel S. Wilks Memorial Medal, American Statistical Association
2013: Officer of the Order of Australia
2015: Fellow, Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia

Membership of learned societies:
American Statistical Association, Australian Academy of Science, Australian Mathematical Society, Bernoulli Society, Institute of Mathematical Statistics, International Chinese Statistical Association, Royal Society of London, Royal Statistical Society, Statistical Society of Australia.


Achieving near-perfect classification for functional data (with A Delaigle), Journal of the Royal Statistical Society, Series B, Volume 74, 267-286 (2012)

A simple bootstrap method for constructing nonparametric confidence bands for functions (with J Horowitz), The Annals of Statistics, Volume 41, 1892-1921 (2013)

Split sample methods for constructing confidence intervals for binomial and Poisson parameters (with G Decrouez), Journal of the Royal Statistical Society, Series B, Volume 76, 949-975 (2014)

Double-bootstrap methods that use a single double-bootstrap simulation (with J Chang), Biometrika, Volume 102, 203-214 (2015)

Methodology for nonparametric deconvolution when the error distribution is unknown (with A Delaigle), Journal of the Royal Statistical Society, Series B, to appear


Website: http://www.ms.unimelb.edu.au/Personnel/profile.php?PC_id=308
Email: halpstat [at] ms.unimelb.edu.au
Work Phone: (03) 8344 9682

Contact Information

Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia

    ABN: 59 957 839 703
  • Location: 26 Balmain Crescent, Acton, ACT 2601
  • Postal: GPO Box 1956, Canberra, ACT 2601
  • +61 .2 62491788
  • +61 .2 62474335
  • secretariat@assa.edu.au