Fellows Detail

Emeritus Professor Joan Beaumont

BA (Hons) (Adelaide), PhD (London)

Elected: 1997

Discipline: History

Specialisation: War, memory, and commemoration; Australia in the two world wars; prisoners of war


Dean of Education and Director of the Faculty of Arts, ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences (2008-11)

Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Alfred Deakin Professor, Deakin University (1998-2008)

Member of the Education and Curriculum subcommittee of the Anzac Centenary Advisory Board, 2012

Department of Foreign Affairs Historical Documents Board, 2013-

Netherlands Institute for War and Holocaust Studies International Advisory Board

University of Alabama Press (War, Memory and culture series).


Fellow of Australian Institute of International Affairs

Prime Minister’s Prize for Australian History (joint), 2014

NSW Premier’s Prize (Australian History)

2014 Queensland Literary Award for History

Australian Society of Authors’ 2015 Asher Award




See https://researchers.anu.edu.au/researchers/beaumont-je


Email: joan.beaumont [at] anu.edu.au
Mobile: 0418 376 909
Work Phone: 02 6125 1109

Contact Information

Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia

    ABN: 59 957 839 703
  • Location: 26 Balmain Crescent, Acton, ACT 2601
  • Postal: GPO Box 1956, Canberra, ACT 2601
  • +61 .2 62491788
  • +61 .2 62474335
  • secretariat@assa.edu.au