The Academy is governed by a number of management and program Committees, principally the Executive Committee which meets three times per year. The Committee is comprised of the President, the Executive Director, the Treasurer, Program Committee Chairs, four Panel Chairs, the immediate Past President for the first two years of a President’s term and a President-elect for the third year of a President’s term.

The current President is Professor Glenn Withers AO. Sub-Committees of the Executive include the Membership Committee, Diversity Committee, Early Career Awards Committee, Finance Committee, and Australian Council of Learned Academies Committee.

Academy President

The current President of the Academy is Professor Glenn Withers AO. Professor Withers is Professor of Economics at the Australian National University (ANU). He was previously founding CEO of Universities Australia and before that Professor of Public Policy at ANU and the Australia and New Zealand School of Government. Earlier he was the Commissioner of the […]

Continue Reading

ASSA Strategic Statement

The Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia (ASSA) is an independent, interdisciplinary body of leading social scientists recognised for their distinguished contributions to the nation. Vision To enhance the quality, relevance, and impact of social science research in Australia. Mission To recognise and promote excellence in the social sciences through facilitating social science research […]

Continue Reading

Secretariat staff

The Secretariat is responsible for the day-to-day running of the Academy and providing administrative support of Academy programs, including: • facilitating links between the Executive Committee, Fellows of the Academy, and government • managing the Academy's programs and events • publishing material on behalf of the Academy • liaising with…

View all Secretariat staff

Contact Information

Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia

    ABN: 59 957 839 703
  • Location: 26 Balmain Crescent, Acton, ACT 2601
  • Postal: GPO Box 1956, Canberra, ACT 2601
  • +61 .2 62491788
  • +61 .2 62474335