Secretariat

The Secretariat is responsible for the day-to-day running of the Academy and providing administrative support of Academy programs, including:

  • facilitating links between the Executive Committee, Fellows of the Academy, and government
  • managing the Academy’s programs and events
  • publishing material on behalf of the Academy
  • liaising with the public and the media
  • formulating policy in conjunction with the Executive Committee
  • liaising with international partners and allied organisations
  • providing administrative support and Fellowship services.
Executive Director
  Dr John Beaton (BA, MA UCLA, PhD ANU)
john.beaton@assa.edu.au
Manager, Fellowship
  Ms Michelle Bruce (BA Psychology, Sociology)
michelle.bruce@assa.edu.au
Manager, Finance
  Ms Jennifer Fernance (BA Hons ANU)
jennifer.fernance@assa.edu.au
Manager, Human Resource and Payroll
  Mrs Rosemary Hurley
rosemary.hurley@assa.edu.au
Manager, Public Forums and Communication
  Mrs Sunita Kumar (BA Sociology, MBA)
sunita.kumar@assa.edu.au
Deputy Director
  Mr Murray Radcliffe (BS)
murray.radcliffe@assa.edu.au
Manager, Governance
  Ms Liz West (BA Political Science, MBA)
liz.west@assa.edu.au

Contact Information

Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia

  • Location: 26 Balmain Crescent, Acton, ACT 2601
  • Postal: GPO Box 1956, Canberra, ACT 2601
  • +61 .2 62491788
  • +61 .2 62474335
  • secretariat@assa.edu.au

Quick Links

Offcanvas

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.