Cunningham Lectures

The academy's flagship annual public lecture is named after Dr Kenneth Stewart Cunningham , the first chairman of the Social Science Research Committee (the academy's predecessor organisation). The Cunningham Lecture is presented by an eminent social scientist, is coupled with the academy's Annual Symposium and is open to the public.

View all Cunningham Lectures

Fay Gale Lectures

The Fay Gale Lecture is named in honour of the late Professor Gwendoline Fay Gale AO (1932–2008), the first female president of the academy (1997–2000) and an eminent human geographer well known for her contributions to academia, the advancement of women within academia, Indigenous studies and juvenile justice. The lecture…

View all Fay Gale Lectures

Keith Hancock Lectures

The Keith Hancock Lecture is named in honour of Emeritus Professor Keith Hancock AO – a Fellow of the academy since 1968, academy President for the period 1981–1984 and one of two Australians who are Honorary Fellows of the London School of Economics. The annual lecture was inaugurated in 2009.…

View all Keith Hancock Lectures

Contact Information

Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia

  • Location: 26 Balmain Crescent, Acton, ACT 2601
  • Postal: GPO Box 1956, Canberra, ACT 2601
  • +61 .2 62491788
  • +61 .2 62474335
  • secretariat@assa.edu.au

Quick Links


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.